Pax Christi Little Rock uses a model of prayer, study, and action to discern and then work for justice and peace. We promote the importance of understanding the root causes of injustice and violence.

3 Noyal Dr. Little Rock AR 72223

+1 (501) 258-8653

Our History

In 1945, a small group of people in France met regularly to pray for peace. What kept them coming together was their experience of an agonizing fact: French and German Catholics, who professed the same faith and celebrated the same Eucharist, had killed one another by the millions in the 20th century. That situation could hardly be the will of God. So, they prayed for forgiveness, reconciliation, and peace.

After the war, Pax Christi centers were established in France and Germany. By the 1950s the movement had spread to Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland, and Belgium. PCUSA was started in 1972 at the initiative of a small group of prominent US Catholics, mostly lay people.

Pax Christi Little Rock initiated its most recent chapter in 2016. The membership was re-energized by the nationalistic political climate and the repression of minority groups. We work to establish equitable and just communities, and to promote peace.

Our Purpose

Pax Christi Little Rock strives to create a world that reflects the Peace of Christ by exploring, articulating, and witnessing to the call of Christian nonviolence. This work begins in personal life and extends to communities of reflection and action to transform structures of society. It advocates primacy of conscience, economic and social justice, and respect for creation.

Pax Christi Little Rock commits itself to peace education and, with the help of its bishop members, promotes the gospel imperative of peacemaking as a priority in the Catholic Church in the U.S. Through the efforts of all members and in partnership with other groups, PCLR works toward a more peaceful, just, and sustainable world. PCLR is committed to becoming an anti-racist, multicultural Catholic peace and justice movement.

Our Board Members

Mary Hunt

Sherry Simon
Vice President

Sandee Haslauer

Sherry Martin

Lee Bass
Chairman of the Board

Father Warren Harvey

Sr. Illiana Aponte

Tim Pruitt

Rosalyn Pruitt

Jan Pipkin

George Simon

Tamara Tahat